Reporting on Approval Requests can be created and reviewed to see the status of current and historical approvals. More information on approvals can be found in the Approval Requests topic.
Keywords FilteringThis report filtering option gives the user the option to return report results that contain the keywords entered.
will filter the report on the state of the item type selected, either open, closed or both states.
Date Filtering OptionsDate Filtering Options has several different date fields that can be set to filter the results of the approval report. The available date fields that can be set to filter on are Approved Date, Request Date, Created Date, Updated Date and Closed Date. All date fields have the option to filter on All Dates (default setting), Dynamic Dates, or Specific Dates.
All Dates - Chooses all items regardless of the dates. This option is not available for all reports or filters (so may not appear in the drop down list). As a caution, when it is available, it is recommended that it is used only with small sets of data, otherwise your results will be very large and it may take a long time to generate the report.
Dynamic Dates - Are a preset ranges of dates that are commonly used, such as current week, current month, last month, next year and that change automatically. If a report is saved with these settings or a filter is remembered with these settings, the next time report is run of the filter is applied, the date range will change automatically relative to the current date. For example, if the current month is October, selecting "Current Month" as a Dynamic Date Range will automatically set the date range to Oct 1 to Oct 31st. If the current month then becomes November, the date range will reset automatically to Nov 1 to Nov 30. The report or filter does not have to be changed as the range changes automatically.
Specific Dates - These are specific dates that are entered and you control what the range is. If a report is saved with these settings or a filter is remembered with these settings, those specific date ranges will be saved as well and when the report is re-run or the filter applied, it will always use those exact dates, they will never change.
Approval Filtering OptionsApproval Status Filtering Options are set to filter the approvals based on the status that the approval is currently on.
User Filtering OptionsUser options can be set to filter based on Approvers, Requestors, Created By or Updated By. Each is a list of Project Insight users
Project Filtering OptionsProject Filtering Options can be set to filter based on Project Type, Project Status, Project name, Project Number and/or Resource Type. Selections available will vary from report to report.
Custom Field Filtering OptionsCustom Field Options will only appear as an option if your system administrator has setup specific Approval Request Custom Fields and these fields have been set to be filter options on reports. The image below is only an example, your report would show your specific custom fields.
Group By / Sub Total Filtering OptionsThe report can be grouped by column names or sorted by column names in either ascending or descending order.You can also stack several choices and group within groups or sort within sorts.
Column Selection OptionsColumn Selection Filtering Options will control the data fields displayed as columns for the report. Detailed information for setting preferences in the data field column displays is contained in the Page Display Options topic.
Save / Share ReportAfter selecting your display options for the report click on the run report button to view your report. You can continue to update and change the display options and re-run the report as needed until you have your desired results.
On the General tab for saved reports, you can choose to include the report in the Report Menu. This places the report in the drop-down, fly-out menu of the global report navigation. The report will be available on that menu for you and for anybody who also has the report by way of sharing it with them. There may also be an option to save as new report if the report you're using originated from a previously saved report. Save as new will save a new report without overwriting any changes you've made to the previously saved report. Saving as new does not force a name change to the saved report, but it is always a good idea to change the name anyway so that you do not have two different reports with the same name. If the report you are saving was shared to you by another user as the original report creator, the save as new report option is the only option available. You cannot make and save modifications to a report created by another person, but rather you will save your own new report.
The Share tab allows you to share with Groups, Companies and Users. If the report is relevant to multiple users, you may find that Companies or Groups are the best way to make sure that the report is not only shared with all of the appropriate users, but also that any new users added to the Company and/or Group automatically get the shared report.
There is an important distinction between shared users on reports and shared users for scheduled reports which must be understood whenever sharing reports with sensitive data. Shared users accessing a link to the report, whether through the application interface or an email link, will run a query which presents the data based on the specific user's permissions, settings and access rights. A shared user accessing a report which was saved as static data (i.e. spreadsheet or PDF file) when the schedule was run will see the exact same results as the creator of the report because the report was run and saved under the settings of the report creator as static data for the other users to view. This important distinction is re-iterated in the explanation of the Report Output Format in the scheduled report settings.
The Description tab is a reference to any information you'd like to add which may help to explain the purpose of the report in more detail than you would normally include in the simple saved name for the report.
The Schedule tab is used to run the report and send a reminder with a link to the report that was run at the selected interval for the report. If the Report Output Format is Link Reminder (dynamic), the scheduled report is simply a URL/link reminder which will run a query and display the real-time data as a result of the query. It does not save static data from the time of the execution of the scheduled report.
If the Report Output Type is not Link Reminder (dynamic), for example it is a spreadsheet or PDF format, the data is saved as static information at the time of the execution of the report. A shared user accessing the report which was saved as static data when the schedule was run will see the exact same results as the creator of the report because the report was run and saved under the settings of the report creator as static data for the other users to view. It is important to note this distinction because the receiver of the scheduled report may see data in the results which they would not otherwise have access to view.