Communication settings can be set at the Company, Group or User level. The default for these settings is a single setting at the All Authenticated Users level which is set so that all users communicate with all users. Many Project Insight configurations maintain this default setting so that no other communication settings are ever required. Below is an example of the communication setting default which you will see when editing the communications for the group All Authenticated Users and selecting the Group Communication tab within the page to set the rule for All Authenticated Users to communicate with All Authenticated Users.
To better understand whether or not your environment should change this default, it is important to understand what it means to have communications permissions between users:
Communication grants the following:
- The user is visible in the Directory (from the My Insight drop-down selections)
- The user is available for a project manager to assign to a project and its tasks
- The user is available for the assignment of an item
- The user is available in the email directory when using the Project Insight email send
Permissions to communicate, in and of themselves, do not grant any authority for one user over another. The main purpose of the communications settings is to allow one company to do business with multiple companies, while restricting those competing companies from seeing each others' users. This would be of particular importance if the host company for the Project Insight projects was simultaneously engaged in collaborative projects for competing clients.
Communications settings also impact who sees which Companies and Groups in the selectors for those items. More detail, examples and diagrams are available in the online help to assist in planning for specific requirements.