Version control retains a copy of previous files instead of deleting them whenever it is enabled for a file upload.
- Upload the original file with version control turned on
- Check the "Version Control" enable button
- Save your first Version!
- Upload a changed version of the file as a replacement
- Note that the previous file is replaced by the latest one (your first version will not be visible anymore)
- Look at the "Previous Versions" tab and you will see a link to download the previous file
- Download past versions with download link
Note: if version control is turned off that "Previous Versions" tab is not available.