The PI best practice is to not delete your users, even when they've left the company or don't use PI. This article gives you the suggestions from our PI gurus but you can indeed delete users anyway. Skip to the last paragraph if you decide to forego this advice. You've been warned!
De-Activate the User
Here are the Pros for de-activating a user;
- It prevents being billed for that user as a license
- They will no longer appear in any of the drop-down selections
- The user's historical data regarding that user will also be available to pull out for reporting
- No deletion necessary!
The best practice for de-activating users who are no longer with the company is to remove all of the system-role checkboxes. Most importantly, Active and Project Resource.
- The Project Resource System Role allows the resource to be assigned to Tasks, even if they are not Active! See this article that goes into more detail on this topic.
Still Set on Deleting the User?
(That is ok, sometimes you have to, like if you have a duplicate user)
- The User MUST be Inactive first
- Go into the User's profile by clicking on their Name from the User list (a popup will appear, click on their Name again)
- Click the "Delete" icon on the top right of your screen
- PI will then warn you one more time, just in case we haven't warned you enough in this article